Employees of the Year

Carson City School District Honors Educators and Employees of the Year
Posted on 03/31/2020
This is the image for the news article titled Carson City School District Honors Educators and Employees of the Year

The Carson City School District is pleased to announce individuals who have excelled in their positions as educators and employees and have been recognized for their works of merit by their peers and coworkers.

Traditionally, the school district selects one Educator and one Education Support Professional (ESP) Employee from all of the school sites to represent the entire district in each respective role. Due to the restraints of school closures amid the COVID-19 pandemic, the school district has elected to forgo the awards ceremony dedicated to recognizing these individuals. As such, no single overall winner will be selected as Educator of the Year and ESP Employee of the Year

"Each of these individuals regularly inspire students of all backgrounds and abilities to learn, and have earned the respect and admiration of students, parents and colleagues,” said Richard Stokes, superintendent for the Carson City School District. “Great teachers and employees are the core of a great educational system. They change the lives of individual students, daily. These winners are not only wonderful representatives for our school district, but they also make profound differences in our community each day.”

The Educators of the Year and ESP Employees of the Year winners recognized and honored (by their site alphabetically) include:

  • Shanell Cavener, algebra and geometry teacher at Carson High School
  • Robin Bleuss, account clerk II at Carson High School
  • Whitney Tynes, counselor at Carson Middle School
  • Jenny Ayala, para professional ESL at Carson Middle School
  • Lois Linehan, Teacher on Special Assignment (TOSA) at Eagle Valley Middle School
  • Denise DiMarzo, administrative secretary at Eagle Valley Middle School
  • Tara Hornemann, physical education teacher at Al Seeliger Elementary School
  • Karen Shaffer, office specialist at Al Seeliger Elementary School
  • Jessica Dunbar, second grade teacher at Bordewich Bray Elementary School
  • Cathleen Childs, para professional II at Bordewich Bray Elementary School
  • Theresa Marler, first grade teacher at Empire Elementary School
  • Carolina Higuera, office specialist at Empire Elementary School
  • Carol “Susie” Owens, second grade teacher at Fremont Elementary School
  • Mayelen Garijo, para professional ESL at Fremont Elementary School
  • Christine Donaldson, kindergarten teacher at Fritsch Elementary School
  • Dawn Bateman, para professional IV (1:1) at Fritsch Elementary School
  • Tearra Bobula, computer teacher at Mark Twain Elementary School
  • Casandra Blankenship, office specialist at Mark Twain Elementary School
  • John Corbit, math teacher at Pioneer High School
  • Karen Wayne, cook/baker at Pioneer High School
  • Kari Pryor, TOSA Implementation Specialist Cognitive Coach for Student Support Services
  • Sandra Guzzetta, para professional IV for Student Support Services
  • Michael Luke, bus driver trainer for Transportation
  • Gary Jones, skilled building maintenance for Operations
  • Gina Heinz, administrative secretary II for the District Office

The Carson City School District also recognizes Deanne Foley, RN, school nurse at Carson Middle School, as Health Professional of the Year, and Paula Zona, principal at Seeliger Elementary School, as Administrator of the Year.