Lt. Cmdr. Meyer

Lt. Cmdr. Meyer Honored as Finalist for 2024 Nevada Teacher of the Year
Posted on 09/20/2023
This is the image for the news article titled Lt. Cmdr. Meyer Honored as Finalist for 2024 Nevada Teacher of the Year

The Carson City School District is pleased to announce Carson High School’s Lieutenant Commander Daniel Meyer, Retired, Senior Naval Science Instructor, was honored Tuesday, Sept. 19, 2023, as one of the three statewide finalists for the Nevada State Teacher of the Year, recognized by the Nevada Department of Education.

Lt. Cmdr. Meyer was surprised in his classroom filled with cadets shortly before the final school bell rang for the day. A representative with the Nevada Department of Education made the announcement via cell phone.

Lt. Cmdr. Meyer was among two other finalists in the state for the award including Laura Jeanne Penrod, a high school English teacher at Southwest Career and Technical Academy in Clark County School District, and Brianna Cotter, a high school Science teacher and instructional strategist at the Meadows School in Las Vegas. Ultimately, Laura Jeanne Penrod was named the 2024 Nevada State Teacher of the Year.

The mission of the Nevada State Teacher of the Year program is to celebrate excellence and strengthen the teaching force by honoring and recognizing exceptional teachers on a school, district, state and national level. The Nevada Teacher of the Year is chosen from nominated individuals who are then invited to apply. After a rigorous application and interview process, the finalists were sent to Jhone Ebert, superintendent of public instruction, to make the final selection.

Out of the 17 school districts in the state of Nevada, the Carson City School District has had teachers represented as top finalists for the last six years running, including the following.

  • 2024 – Lt. Cmdr. Dan Meyer
  • 2023 – Adrienne Wiggins
  • 2022 – Rachel Croft
  • 2021 – Christina Bourne
  • 2020 – Nick Jacques
  • 2019 – Joanna Kaiser

Additionally, the Carson City School District has had four teachers win the prestigious Nevada State Teacher of the Year award. Those include the following.

  • 2013 – Adam Whatley
  • 2012 – Deanna LeBlanc
  • 2011 – Cheryl Macy
  • 2008 – LeAnn Morris

The program is facilitated nationally by the Council of Chief State School Officers (CCSSO). Along with its sponsors, CCSSO brings together State Teachers of the Year from all 50 states, U.S. territories, Washington, DC, and the Department of Defense Education Activity.

ABOUT The Nevada Department of Education
The Nevada Department of Education (NDE) leads and collaborates with Nevada’s 17 school districts and the State Public Charter School Authority to advance educational equity Statewide. With offices in Carson City and Las Vegas, NDE oversees all pre-K-12 education in the State, working to achieve its mission to improve student achievement and educator effectiveness by ensuring opportunities, facilitating learning and promoting excellence. Under the leadership of the State Board of Education and the Superintendent of Public Instruction, NDE impacts the achievement of nearly half a million children and 30,000 educators. Learn more at