State Winners for HOSA

CHS HOSA Students Compete in Virtual State Competition
Posted on 05/19/2020
This is the image for the news article titled CHS HOSA Students Compete in Virtual State Competition

Carson High School Career and Technical Education (CTE) HOSA (Future Health Professionals) students competed in the 2020 Virtual Nevada State Leadership Conference hosted April 15 through May 8. More than 1,000 students from across the state of Nevada competed in more than 40 medical competition events.

Students were only able to compete in one event (some events were individual, and some were team events) as well as take the Healthcare Issues Exam and be recognized for their service. All The Carson High School students listed below qualified for the 2020 Virtual International Leadership Conference set for June 22-27. They will compete against members from all over the nation and from countries such as Italy and Germany.

Additionally, more than 81 percent of the students who ranked in the top 25 percent in the Healthcare Issues Exam were from Carson High School. A total of 35 CHS HOSA students earned the recognition, which also qualified them to compete at nationals. There were only 43 HOSA students to qualify across the state of Nevada.

Individual Event Winners (listed alphabetically by last name):

  • Nasser Abdelhady - 4th Dental Science
  • Zaid Abdelhady - 5th Pharmacy Science
  • Nick Batien - 1st Physical Therapy
  • McKenna Budd - 2nd Clinical Nursing
  • Gary Cortes-Solis - 1st Cultural Diversities & Disparities in Healthcare
  • Cady Garrett - 2nd Job Seeking Skills
  • Riley Gudmundson - 1st Medical Reading
  • Maria Juarez-Razo - 3rd Nutrition
  • Stacy Kennison - 2nd Nutrition
  • Abby Lemburg - 3rd Job Seeking Skills
  • McKenah Manzo - 5th Cultural Diversities & Disparities in Healthcare
  • Chloe Marks - Barbara James Silver Service Award
  • Mackenzie Meza - 3rd Veterinary Science
  • Saeed Mobaligh - 2nd Healthy Lifestyle
  • Laney Montgomery - 4th Sports Medicine
  • Vanessa Poppenga - 2nd Extemporaneous Writing
  • Brynn Prunty - 3rd Physical Therapy
  • Fatima Ramirez - 5th Dental Terminology
  • Kayleen Ramirez - 1st Nutrition
  • Rachel Rundell - 5th Physical Therapy
  • Jashmeen Thind - 2nd Pharmacy Science

Team Event Winners:

  • Chloe Marks & Savanna Sharp - 3rd EMT
  • Isabella Bertrand, Alyssa Birri, Caydee Farnworth, Ashley Fitzpatrick and Jacob Frazer - 1st MRC Partnership
  • Angie Portillo and Daleah Warren - 2nd Health Career Display
  • Deanina Dunn and Anabella Aguilar - 5th Health Education
  • Jenna Corrigan, Ashtyn Plinske and Thaniqua Williard - 3rd Health Education
  • Cristian Garcia Perez, Brian Guthrie, Anthony Kunter, Thomas Legott and Perry Yim - 5th Public Service Announcement

Healthcare Issues Exam winners (listed alphabetically by last name):

  • Zaid Abdelhady
  • Nicholas Batien
  • Alyssa Birri
  • Haley Busby
  • Jenna Corrigan
  • Gary Cortes Solis
  • Heidi DeLeon-Saenz
  • Deanina Dunn
  • Caydee Farnworth
  • Alixis Fausto Hernandez
  • Ashley Fitzpatrick
  • Madline Fontaine
  • Jacob Frazer
  • Kaylee Garcia
  • Lizbeth Gonzalez Castro
  • Brian Guthrie
  • Maria Juarez-Razo
  • Sydney Lloyd
  • Mckenah Manzo-Caskey
  • Chloe Marks
  • Mackenzie Meza-Moreno
  • Laney Montgomery
  • Janelly Ornellas
  • Ashtyn Plinske
  • Quinn Pulver
  • Lilliana Ralla-Lanyi
  • Kayleen Ramirez
  • Kelly Robles
  • Savanna Sharp
  • Jashmeen Thind
  • Cynthia Vega
  • Kyla Jae West
  • Sarah Wiggins
  • Thaniqua Williard
  • Perry Yim