Women in STEM

Students and Teacher Honored at Society of Women Engineers Event
Posted on 05/13/2024
This is the image for the news article titled Students and Teacher Honored at Society of Women Engineers Event

Last month, the Sierra Nevada section of the Society of Women Engineers recognized women high school students, women college students and professional women who have excelled in Science, Technology, Engineering, and Math (STEM). Several Carson City students and one teacher were honored at the 2024 Night of STEM Star Awards in Reno, Friday, April 26, 2024.

The honorees were recognized for displaying remarkable talent and commitment in the field of STEM. These young scholars not only excelled academically but also engaged in innovative projects and extracurricular activities that have enhanced their learning and impacted their community.

Three Pioneer Academy students were honored at the ceremony. Debbie Uzzell, Brooklynn Case and Kaitlyn Nguyen of Pioneer were all recognized at the event for their academic excellence and creativity in STEM courses. Five Carson High School students were recognized including Madeline Silsby and Jinnie Ponczoch, who were recognized as Outstanding Senior and Junior Girls in STEM respectively. Gloria Dooley, Clare Mulvihill and Charlotte Roberts were also recognized from National Center for Women & Information Technology with Aspirations in Computing Awards from their AP Computer Science Principles class at Carson High School.

In addition to student awardees, the event also celebrated the role of educators who were pivotal in shaping the future of STEM. Emily Thornburg, AP Calculus, Trigonometry and Pre-calculus teacher at Carson High, was recognized as a Professional, Outstanding STEM Educator.

The Night of STEM Star Awards also served as a platform for networking, where attendees had the opportunity to connect with leaders and peers in the industry, gaining insights and advice on navigating the challenges of a STEM career. See photo gallery from the event April 26, 2024.

Not pictured: Kaitlyn Nguyen, Gloria Dooley, Clare Mulvihill and Charlotte Roberts.